The Origin of my name: Mr. Writer

So I’ve often been asked by my friends why I always choose to put my display name as Mr. Writer. It’s not a nickname of mine or anything but rather, something I kind of just chose as my writing persona. The name comes from a song called “Mr. Writer” by a Welsh (meaning from Wales) Rock band called Stereophonics. The song was written in 2001 and the song is essentially about a journalist who went on tour with the band and ended up not only giving them a bad review but also just kept talking shit about them so they (the band) were calling the journalist a traitor and a liar. Now the lead singer and writer of the band, Kelly Jones has gotten media attention multiple times, one in particular was because the band photographer (and also good friend of his) began a relationship with his ex-girlfriend of 12 years, 2 weeks after they broke up and in a state of inebriation, kicked down the guy’s door, vandalized two of his cars and as a result was arrested but luckily charges were not pressed on him. Obviously he felt remorse later and wrote a song called “Rainbows and Pots of Gold” (a beautiful song by the way, be sure to check it out) which was his way of apologizing to his ex-girlfriend and his old friend. As I was saying, Kelly Jones has received a lot of media attention and as a result, almost every journalist thought the song “Mr. Writer” was about them, and they were not happy with the band, to which Jones responded, “f*ck ’em”. Wise words, Mr. Jones, wise words. So even though the song is kind of an insult to journalists, my reason for taking the name as my own is because the main lyric that is stressed in the song is: “Mr. Writer, why don’t you tell it like it is?” So this is me, telling things like it really is. I know it sounds cheesy to some people but, f*ck em’.

-Mr. Writer

Written on the 17th of July 2014 at 9:45 P.M. 

Leave a Reply

