The Interview (Movie Review and a tangent on Censorship)

So a few days ago I watched the film, “The Interview”, that stars James Franco and very comical, Seth Rogen with my sister-in-law. Before watching the movie, I remember reading a bunch of Facebook Posts and news headlines about the movie and all the trouble it was stirring and I gotta say, when I first saw the trailer, I did have a feeling that there would be some criticism but nevertheless, the premise of the film did seem a little funny just cause the fact that James Franco’s character thinks of Kim Jong Un as “actually a pretty cool guy”.

I will say though that after the movie was over, I will admit it was pretty outrageous and not what I was expecting. But for it to cause all kinds of drama the way it did, that was a little unnecessary, i mean sure yeah North Korea was going to be upset but it’s a fictional piece not to be taken seriously. It got so bad that the movie was taken OUT of theaters a day or two before it was supposed to be released. Aren’t we supposed to have freedom of speech? Yes, certain things should be looked after but I’m just saying if the KKK are able to have meetings and do whatever it is they’re fucking doing, we should be able to at least watch a movie.  I liked however what one theater did in response to “The Interview” getting taken out of theaters, I think it was in Dallas, TX where they instead showed the movie: “Team America: World Police”, for those that don’t know the movie, the main antagonist of it was Kim Jong-Il, Yes that’s right, Kim Jong-Un’s father. When that movie came out, I don’t remember it causing that much controversy (or it probably did, I didn’t watch the movie until many years after it came out) but the thing is, the film was not taken out of theaters and why should it be? It was actually a pretty funny movie.

The thing that’s been bugging me lately is that there’s so much censorship nowadays, sure yes, sometimes we need to watch what it is we say but a movie is a movie. If you’re a parent and you think a certain movie is not what you would want your kids to see, the solution is simple: don’t let your kids see the damn movie. So if you’re North Korea and there’s a movie being made in another country that portrays your leader in an embarrassing light, the solution again is simple: Don’t let your people see that movie, ban it in your own country, not in the country where they’re making the film. Because in the country where the film is being made, they have the ability to make those movies and make a profit. It may not make sense to North Korea, but that’s okay because cultural relativism does not need to apply in this situation. It’s kind of like a couple that’s been together for a long time and all you see them do is fight all the time, it is weird to us but it doesn’t matter because what they do is none of our business. And in this sense, North Korea has made it their business because I don’t recall anyone saying that they were forcing Kim Jong-Un to watch the movie or they would kill him (if that were the case, okay something needs to be done about that).

I’ve gone on a bit of a tangent, so I will stop now and continue the review, if you’ve made it this far, thank you.

The film was a typical Seth Rogen and James Franco movie, meaning for those who appreciate the films: “This is the End”, “Neighbors” and “40 Year Old Virgin”, they’ll like this movie a lot. And if you just so happen to despise North Korea, lucky day! Anyway, the film does have a good structured plot line, however to be totally honest after seeing so many films such as this that have characters going back and forth with insults, one-liners, and repeating sentences in an attempt to make them into catch-phrases so audiences leaving the theater will go and repeat them with their friends and therefore have what is known as a “cult-following”, it kind of drags on after a while and it leaves viewers like me feeling bored and laughing only because you don’t wanna be the only asshole watching the movie not laughing.

Don’t get me wrong, the movie was very much worth-watching because Seth Rogen and the other writers of the film successfully did their best to make an original-story line and the story I felt, was more focused on the plot than the jokes (which I do appreciate because a good movie is supposed to have a good story-arc). I don’t grade the movies I watch because these are simply my opinions as an amateur critic and because these guys know more about comedy and how to make movies than I do so all in all, watch the movie  enjoy yourself, and fuck North Korea.

Post Script: Thank you for taking the time to read this very long post because it means so much to me. This is me doing something I truly enjoy and I’m glad to share it with those that actually read this, I’m sure there are better things you could be doing with your time, but again thank you. I’m going to try to write at least one blog a week if not more because I do love writing and I want to give my “fans” something to look forward to. Thank you so much again, peace and love. And fuck North Korea. 

-Mr.Writer

Written on the 8th of January 2015 at 9:07 P.M.

Leave a Reply

