Musical Thoughts From a Drunk Mind

So as I’m writing this, I’m having a couple drinks and listening to the album Stankonia by OutKast for the first time. This album came out in 2000 and I was born in 1993, looking back on my past, the only thing I remember of this group is the popular song, “Ms. Jackson” as a kid watching part of the music video where (I wanna say, but I don’t want to confuse the two) Big Boi in the pouring rain singing “I’m sorry, Ms. Jackson” and as a young kid, I didn’t appreciate the song that much. But it wasn’t until I suffered my first actual heartbreak and I was in the car with my brother-in-law and the song, “So Fresh, So Clean” was playing in the car that I started to appreciate OutKast as a group. The song made me laugh cause of how silly it was but also how it made me feel good about myself, if you haven’t heard it, do it. Do it now!

I always had a thing for music, my mom told me when I was little I couldn’t sleep without listening to Michael Jackson. The way I’m telling the story, it sounds like it would inspire me to be a musician but I’m no good at writing music or singing. But music however has always played an important part in my life. Maybe it’s just the coincidence of life but every song that I hear just so happens to become part of a soundtrack to the movie that is my life. That probably doesn’t make sense but it’s okay, let me try to explain though still:

When I was 16, there was a girl that I had a huge liking for but she liked someone else and cheated on me with him actually. All the friends I had and good advice from other adults couldn’t help me cheer up. It wasn’t until I heard the song, “Fuck You” by Cee Lo Green that I started smiling and feeling a little “pep in my step” if my life was a film at that moment, it was the perfect soundtrack to what was happening in my life.

Isn’t it crazy the effect music has on our lives? Every emotion we feel is typically feigned by our mind. Usually, we can trick ourselves to be happy and we can trick ourselves to be sad by things like driving in rain. Try listening to a happy song in the rain, it feels fucking awkward, doesn’t it? But have you ever listened to a song that just so happens to be depressing and you just so happen to feel sad, you could be having a great day but that song will just plague your mind and if a happy song plays after that, it fucks with your psyche and you wanna continue listening to the sad song or more sad songs.

I think that’s the case because sometimes a musician is truly artistic when they’re at their most emotionally vulnerable state. It sounds harsh to say but you can definitely empathize with an artist that’s singing a song that’s coming truly from the heart. Like the song, “Wish You Were Here” by Pink Floyd after learning about the story behind it. To make a long story short, the story behind the song is that their original lead singer/founder of the band had a problem with drugs and alcohol and it got so bad that he became mentally unstable and the rest of the band were wondering what happened to the friend they grew up with and were just wishing things were different. The real story is a lot sadder than I illustrated but still, I can’t listen to that song without tearing up a little, say what you want about me but damn it, that’s gotta be the greatest acoustic song ever.

Pharell Williams’ song, Happy” has a similar effect cause of how positive it is. That song is intoxicating isn’t it? And you can’t help but smile and try to follow that stupid little clap that plays within the song. Don’t get me wrong, I love the song, I’m just saying, Pharell knows how to write a catchy song.

Segueing back to Outkast, recently I was feeling depressed for personal reasons and because lately it’s been raining, I needed to listen to something sad, so the song “I Should Have Known” by Foo Fighters was my go-to song cause it’s about feeling depression for something you knew in the back of your mind was going to end tragically but you did it anyway; and we’ve all been there so that’s what makes the song so amazing. We always do the opposite of what’s right cause we think we can deal with the consequences later but then when those consequences come for us, we look around and say, “I didn’t know it would hurt like this!”  And I was listening to this song, I just was getting lost in the powerful lyrics being sang by Dave Grohl. But something in my mind was telling me to look up some more depressing/heartbreak songs, and I just so happened to find the song “Roses” by OutKast. After listening to that song, let’s just say my emotions made a complete 180.

For those that don’t know about that song, it’s a song about a girl that is super stuck up and has hurt the hero of the story because she thinks she is too good for him and the hero of the song is saying, “Umm, I’m a man. Maybe not much of a man, but a man nonetheless and you’re hot and all but to be honest, you ain’t all that anyway”. The chorus of the song, word for word is my favorite and luckily they repeat it multiple times cause it goes, “I know you’d like to think, your shit don’t stank, but lean a little bit closer see, roses really smell like boo- boo oo” and not only could I not stop laughing but also it made me feel like they were reaching out to people like me who have been dumped by girls that were stuck-up bitches. You’re a human being, just like the rest of us so come back down to earth and realize that the earth does not revolve around you. (sorry, personal moment)

The point I’m trying to make is that music is such a beautiful thing in this world, lately the music that’s being played on the radio seems to be nothing but beats. There’s no actual meaning behind it, where’s the talent? Where’s the hardwork? But I’m not entirely worried because there are plenty of songs from the past that will always remain and be appreciated by those that actually give a shit. And if not, then they’ll just never know what actual music is, fuck em’.

-Mr. Writer

Written on the 14th of January 2015 at 10:05 P.M. 

Leave a Reply

