Everybody Waan’ go Heaven; Nobody Want Dead

Religion: A hot topic issue which no one really likes to talk about because arguments ensue as a result of it. Now I’m not talking about religion because I’m here to talk about what “The One True Religion” is because the truth is, there is no “One True Religion”, in my opinion. Because they all do share similar roots and stories plus we never know if what we’re reading is true. Hell, I’m writing about religion and I can honestly tell you, I don’t even know what I’m talking about. But the thing is, religion to me is still a beautiful thing.

The reason why I say it’s beautiful is because despite everything, it gives people hope. And I unfortunately, refute hope for myself, I want the truth. But the problem with wanting that is, there is no truth that is simply true for beliefs. It’s all opinion, and as I said before in a previous blog, “All opinions are false, that’s a fact.” That doesn’t mean however, that I want to take that away from anyone. So me having my beliefs, I’m aware puts me in a lonely place where I’m the only one that has these thoughts, and that’s perfectly okay with me. Because my beliefs are MY beliefs for a reason and no one else’s.

At first I condemned religion because of all the wars it caused between people. But I realized I can’t blame religion, instead the people are the ones to blame. I’m sorry to say this but we as humans can be shitty people. And anyone whose been in traffic knows what I’m talking about. I applaud the ones who have their beliefs in religion and keep it to themselves because that’s how it’s supposed to be. If it’s true or not, who cares? It makes you happy.Whatever your beliefs are shouldn’t matter, I think it just matters if you’re a good person. I have two friends who are Satanists, they’re still wonderful people. Plus despite their name, they don’t actually believe in the devil.

I stand by this argument I made when I was 16 which was I don’t think it matters what religion you are, as long as you’re a good person, you’ll be able to go to heaven. Now, I said that when I was 16. At 21, I don’t know what happens when you die and to be honest, I don’t want to know what happens when we die. Since we are talking about what I said when I was 16, we will continue that. I loved to compare religion to a special membership and heaven was this club and if you didn’t have the right membership you couldn’t get in. I strongly believe that it doesn’t matter what membership you have, it’s not like when you get there, St. Peter or whoever is at the Gates of Heaven is gonna go, “What the hell are you doing coming over here with a Visa? We take only American Express! What’s that? Places in the U.S. didn’t take American Express? Well too fuckin’ bad cause you’re not in the U.S. anymore are you? You know what does take Visa? Hell! Get your ass down there!” and pulls that freakin’ lever. No, none of that will happen if God is as merciful and all-loving as people believe him to be.

And the thing about God being all-loving and merciful is great, yet humans (of ALL religions) have made it a point to kill in the name of God. I’m not a theologian or anything but I don’t think God would be too happy with you doing that if he’s all-loving. Another thing is, sometimes, and I hate to admit it but the reason why people kill and do other crazy shit like argue about whether their religion is better than another’s is because their too stupid to understand what the word “Tolerance” means. That and some people are (again, sorry to put it like this, but it’s true) too stupid to realize what right and wrong is.

Socrates asks, “Are things morally good because the Gods say they are? Or are they morally good and That’s why the Gods say so?” And the answer in my opinion is: Things are morally good, and that’s why the Gods or God says so. To quote a favorite comedian of mine, “Who needs a thousand metaphors to figure out you shouldn’t be a dick?” I think I’ve perhaps gone on long enough so what I’m trying to say is religion is a beautiful thing but human beings by nature are fucked up people at least according to Hobbes. People always say we’re lost and a book being given to us will give us the answers to how we should live. I disagree, if you feel in your heart something is bad, then don’t do it. If you feel something good it means you did something right, unless your a psychopath in which case, there’s almost no hope for you.

And that’s another thing, psychopaths from what I’ve heard about, feel good when they’ve killed people or done terrible things and it turns out they’ve had tumors in their brains that overpower their side of reasoning and empathy. How does religion explain that? It can’t. It probably does and I haven’t read it but regardless, there are so many things we can’t understand and that’s okay. Maybe we aren’t meant to know everything. If we were to find out that life is meaningless and nothing happens when we die, would give us no reason to get up in the mornings. And hopefully that isn’t the case, whatever the true meaning of life is and what religion is the right one to follow, it doesn’t matter all we can do is hope and pray for a better tomorrow and just live our lives with happiness and try to stay out of trouble. And with that, I say to those that actually took the time to read this: God Bless You. And to those that are probably gonna give me crap for writing this: Go to Hell.

-Mr. Writer

Originally Written on the 2nd of April, 2015 at 9:00 P.M.

Leave a Reply

